Mariana, in Brazil

The origin of the city dates back to the late seventeenth century, a time when pioneers came to the region in search of gold. The designation of Mariana came later, in honor of Queen Maria Anna of Austria, wife of King D. João V. On April 8, 1711 the governor Antonio de Albuquerque created in the camp of Ribeirao do Carmo, the village of Our Ribeirão do Carmo lady, confirmed by Royal Charter of April 14, 1712 with the name changed to Vila Real de Nossa Senhora will change name again on April 23, 1745 to Mariana City, honor the King John V of Portugal D. Maria Ana of Austria his wife.


The governor, in a ceremony, he chose the place of the public square at its center the pillory, a symbol of newly acquired administrative autonomy. In the following days, the “good men” full of money and women gathered for the election of the Board and the appointment of various municipal officials. In the case of Carmo, the camp knew that stronger growth, the camp was chosen from Above. The description of the stipulated ceremony that not only the locals, but all that now depend on the jurisdiction of the new district, according to his Church would take care of construction means the House, from prison. So it was the first village created and would later be the first city in Minas Gerais. Were present, according to the term written then, people and leading residents signing the document (written by Manuel Pegado) Antônio de Freitas da Silva, Domingos Fernandes Pinto, José Rebelo Perdigão, Aleonardo Nardi Sizão de Sousa, who also incidentally signed Nardi Arzão, Manuel Antunes de Lemos, Antonio Ribeiro Correia, Francisco Campos (former chief Emboaba), Feliz de Azevedo Carneiro e Cunha, Pedro Teixeira Sequeira, Rafael da Silva e Sousa, known Reinol, José de Campos, Antonio Correia Sardinha, Bartolomeu Fernandes Manuel Gonçalves Fraga, José de Almeida Naves, Jacinto Barbosa Lopes, Manuel da Silva e Sousa, Bernardo de Chaves Cabral, Manuel Ferreira Vilence, Torquato Teixeira de Carvalho, João Delgado Camargos, Filipe Campos, Manuel da Silva Leme, Caetano Moniz da Costa, Jerónimo de Azevedo da Silveira, Sebastian Black Ferreira, Francisco Ribeiro de Morais, Fernando de Andrade, Jacinto Nogueira Pinto, Antonio Rodrigues de Sousa, Inácio de Sampaio and Almeida, Francisco de Lucena Monte Arroyo, Pedro Correia de Godoi, Benedict Vieira de Sousa and José de Barros and Fonseca.


Mariana is part of the history of Minas birth because it was his first village, city and capital.

You must be logged in to post a comment Login